three…

29Mar07

got tagged by one of the few people who can make sense of my roman urdu, saadat. πŸ™‚ Β so here goes:

three things that scare me:

  1. the idea that shaikh rasheed is actually popular enough as a politician to one day become prime minister
  2. the fact that shoaib mailk (yes the guy who thew that twenty20 match) is a captaincy prospect
  3. the knowledge that i will soon have to get a hair transplant ala’ nawaz shareef. either that or be as bald as he used to be. damn.

three people who make me laugh:

  1. shaikh rasheed (though he makes me cry too)
  2. jl, the sindhi baloch from my office
  3. laurel and hardy used to have me in stitches when i was a kid.

three things i love:

  1. eating ice cubes
  2. lying in bed with a good book in one hand and a bar of cadbury’s whole nut in the other. heaven
  3. i would have named her, but shes not a thing. what’s next on the list? the bmw 7 series

three things i hate:

  1. rana naved. now he is definitely a thing…
  2. fake accents
  3. pineapples

three things i don’t understand:

  1. the stock market
  2. the currencies market
  3. the market for mujras ofΒ dancers who look like that lollywood star, saima. i mean why????!!!

three things on my desk:

  1. my wallet
  2. three different types of wrigley’s extra chewing gum
  3. a jar full of those little super bouncy rubber balls. can’t study without them.

three things i am doing right now:

  1. typing this crap
  2. listening to abida parveen singing faiz’s gul hui jaatee hai over and over and over again.
  3. sipping nestle’s orange juice. it should have been mountain dew but somebody just had to tell me to cut down on cold drinks….

three things i want to do before i die:

  1. do the entire pilgramage route. haj, umra, zyarats etc. as many times as possible.
  2. conquer my fear of heights and do some serious parachuting
  3. get published (and getting appreciated for it would be nice)

three things i can do:

  1. a wicked impersonation of the director of my last educational institute – a guy with a major speech impediment
  2. make obscene perverted parodies of atif aslam’s songs
  3. sleep while standing in a karachi bus – and that’s no mean feat.

three things you should listen to:

  1. oum kulthum’s songs
  2. my buddy gujjar’s tall tales of his exploits with women
  3. me attempting to read an urdu newspaper – laughs guaranteed

three things i’d like to learn:

  1. kung fu
  2. arabic and persian
  3. the salsa and the tango and the rumba and the samba and all those “dirty dancing type” dances even though i’m so never going to dance in public again.

three favourite foods:

  1. tala hua gosht with daal, kuchumber and chapatis – unbelievably simple dish but when cooked by my south-indian-origin mom – amazing
  2. fried prawns – desi style
  3. shawarmas with high quality humus.

three beverages i drink regularly:

  1. water
  2. orange juice (all year round, at least half a litre a day)
  3. pepsi (yeah yeah i’m cutting down)

three tv shows/books i read as a child:

  1. practically all of enid blyton, roald dahl and my beloved hardy boys series
  2. most of the stuff on ntm, the flash, the wizard, manimal, automan, wise guy, alf, the fresh prince of bel air… the list goes on
  3. wuthering heights. read it for the first time at nine. i’ve never figured out how a teenage girl conjured up a character like heathcliff

three people i would like to tag:

  1. henna
  2. mansoor
  3. samar
21 Responses to “three…”

  1. 1 Saadat

    Haha! Great answers, dude. You’re also welcome in that martial arts class that I might be arranging for Bhaijan (knicq).

    By the way, are you a friend of mine in disguise? He can make obscene perverted parodies of almost every song.

  2. 2 No One

    Interesting to learn more about you…eating ice cubes…kind of weird…but its ok…laters.

  3. you’re knicq’s brother? what a small world…

    and no one, eating ice cubes is the least wierd thing about me 😎

  4. 4 PsycheD

    i knew u’d make tags more interesting with ur answers…so when do i get to hear the parodies then??
    o-m-g! ur mom’s a south indian?? kewl! i luv south indian food particularly thaali and saambhar!…ermm…that is south indian na?

    and while ur at it, lambada’s a must too! πŸ˜‰
    and about the getting published part…u mean a whole book? or an article (as in my mag) do well for starters? i got something for u to pen down for the next issue. cud use ur humour to add an extra zing to my mag:)

  5. 5 Saadat

    Er, I am not Knicq’s real brother. It’s more like we are friends who are like brothers (and we still have to meet each other face to face!) πŸ™‚

  6. You gorge on ice cubes?? Perhaps you have pica?

    Cadbury. AHHH. So hungry.

    I love Roald Dahl! Brilliant children’s books.

  7. @ psyched: my mom’s south indian but not that south indian. πŸ™‚ thank god! i dont eat most south indian stuff or frankly north indian stuff ofr that matter but just when you least expect it a desi recipe leads to the creation of an absolute delicacy.

    @ saadat: the blogosphere works in wierd ways πŸ™‚

    @ sabrina: i most certainly do not have pica! i’m very visibly not malnourished and while my physique may belie it, i am not pulling a schwarzenegger and getting pregnant!! πŸ™‚

  8. Heathcliff…..haaawwww….kea yaad dila deaaa….the demon lover…..i read it for the 1st time in urdu somewhere in my pre-teens and later in adulthood…..remembering this novel is always a dark pleasure, sending chills down my spine…
    psstt…if u ll chew down too many ice cubes, ur hair wont be the only thing u ll lose.
    Someone told me that mountain dew and soft mints r bad…specifically for guys…..

  9. propoganda. nothing more.

  10. Why are you making me think of food? I need to study, man. But I’ll excuse you because of your love of Enid Blyton. You must be OLD. (Too).

  11. Hai, I love this tag but my pc’s gone crazier than ever. I shall do this tag before I die. Yes I will. My mum loves sucking on ice cubes on really hot afternoons.

  12. 12 Kenny Mah

    “lying in bed with a good book in one hand and a bar of cadbury’s whole nut in the other. heaven”

    Good one. I’ve forgotten how great that feeling is. Only problem is when you finish the bar and can’t be bothered to get out of bed to get another. Add a glass of cold milk and I’m gone. Yums.

  13. @ shabana: πŸ™‚ i think so…

    @ henna: isn’t that a little too soon?

    @ kenny: yes you’re right. so in heaven the bedroom fridge by the bed would be stacked full of more chocolate…

  14. Many apologies for the delay in doing the tag. But fear not. done it shall be. Just the when is a little uncertain.

    You get brownie points for reading Enid Blyton πŸ˜›

  15. i’m honoured 2 do the tag jee…

    lemme get my writing spirits up :p

    and i can slep on the bus standing up AND sound funny while reading urdu too :p lolzz

    wierd people are more alike than not πŸ˜›

  16. 16 Asma

    NTM – ahh at least they used to show better pieces than todays’ star world and other channels 😐

    No need to listen to your urdu paper reading – I’m already cracking my head off πŸ™‚

  17. 17 Zag

    I hate tags but i love going thru other’s replies πŸ™‚

    btw, it’s a good thing you can’t put the name of the person you love….. cuz u r putting her at number THREE!?!?!? AFter chewing ice cubes and books and candy bars!! Believe me if she’d read her name at three, the first thing on the things i hate would be her sandal and the first thing on the thing you don’t understand would be her name again πŸ™‚

    ooohhh another btw…. there’s a market for mujras of dancers who look like that lollywood star, saima?? Seriously?? Where do i get the contact number of that one? Is there a website? umm…. its for a friend of a friend…. honest…

  18. dude don’t tell me you’ve never been to rainbow…

  19. 19 Zag

    Ohhhh you are talking about THAT!! πŸ™‚ I thought you were talking about live versions… btw, do they really look like saima or are they just fat πŸ™‚

  20. apparently some are dead ringers for her. others are just plain old fat. either way, i’d rather watch hippos mating – ans i have no interest in watching hippos mate. πŸ™‚

  21. Indian food often very spicy rich in nutrition ,and leaves you craving for more. I heard that most of the Indian dishes are so much oily. I love it and enjoy them very much. Infact we are live in London yet very much fond of it.


Leave a Reply

